I Love: Raw Fruit and Veg.

Hey Pretty Girls!

Today’s post is a slightly longer one (bare with me!) about fruits and vegetables and the beauty superpowers they posess. I have always liked them but I never really ate enough or understood the importance of eating these foods regularly. However, since really trying to include these into my diet, I’ve noticed a huge improvement in my energy levels and the condition of my skin.. YAY!
Below are some pictures of the meals that I love to eat (mainly breakfasts) and the health benefits of doing so.

20140603-002847-1727816.jpg

This is one of my favourite breakfasts to have and this time of year it’s particularly great because the majority of these fruits are summer fruits so are in season at the moment.

The benefits of this breakfast:

• Fruits are quickly digested compared to other foodstuffs and so are best consumed at least half an hour before anything harder to digest such as bread, dairy and meat. Having this as a breakfast combats that issue to stop bloating from inproper food combination and allows you to get your vitamin quota pretty much filled before your day even begins.
• Blueberries are full of anti-oxidants which help fight off free radicals in the blood, clear up our skin and improve our memory!
• Bananas are a more ‘carby’ fruit and help keep your body satisfied for longer meaning you will get hungry less quickly.

20140603-003629-2189257.jpg

Above is a similar breakfast that I try and eat as regularly as possible. I love to add in an avocado every couple of days as they are full of healthy fats that help keep our skin, hair, heart and nails at their best. Be careful though as the good fats in this are still calorific – everything in moderation! ☺️

20140603-004044-2444795.jpg

If you have a local farm shop or equivalent, it may be that you can do this breakfast on the cheap. I understand that fruit and veggies are expensive in supermarkets (particularly berries) but from my local farm shop I did the whole shop above for just £11. Look around your area – you may find a cheaper way to support both your local businesses and look your best at the same time!

Remember that prettiness starts with your body and your health – a healthy body will have glowing skin and strong hair without the need of makeup and hair extensions.

Take care of yourself and you’ll always be beautiful!

Until next time, Pretties!

Leave a comment